The Mighty DR650

I’m interested in your project (as others will be if it’s easy, compact, and affordable) as i own a suzuki DR650. Suzuki has kept this bike carbureted since it’s inception. It needs fuel injection.

The bike has more or less negligible changes throughout it’s history, my specific model is the K5 (2005) model.

Personally, if i can contribute, i’d like to. I have a clean bike with low-ish miles (15k), i’m a competent mechanic, a middling programmer, and a functional TIG welder. I’m more intimidated by a lack of electronics in a motorized vehicle than the work to swap them in.

Current options for my platform are the ecotrons setup and some hacks from various suzuki quads. None of these are a particularly good fit, though they can be shoehorned in. I’d like to think nanoEFI might do better.

1 Like

Welcome @takophiliac ! :wave:

We’ve seen a lot of interest in NanoEFI from the DR650 community. I’m looking forward to seeing the first install!

If you don’t mind, would you be able to upload a few screenshots of the manual for the K5 model? In specific, the pages regarding your electrical specs and diagram would be great. Thanks!

I’ll do several better. I’ve got the 96-05 manual with addendums for model years, i’ll upload shots of all the wiring diagrams, as well as electrical related specs pages.

1 Like

Here’s a link to a photos album. Let me know if it’s preferable to have the images uploaded to the forum directly.

1 Like

Nice work with the diagrams.
I might have to do the same for my xr400.

I briefly thought about cutting them out and using a bed scanner, but only briefly. I may yet just to get the book in digital form.

1 Like

Dude, so harsh. Someone had to do the first DR650 EFI project. I had limited stuff to work with 10 years ago. :wink: Besides I don’t think anything about my project was hacked… of course YMMV. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

I meant no disrespect.